UPDATE REGARDING KENT HINKSON – SUNDAY, AUGUST 10, 2014

Kent Hinkson
Kent Hinkson

It is with the most profound sadness imaginable, we wanted to let you know that the body of our beloved spouse, father, and grandfather – Kent Torrey Hinkson – was found late last night. A suspect is in custody. We learned of this on early Sunday morning, August 10th. Given the ongoing investigation, we cannot provide any further comment. For all matters related to this case, refer to communications from the Durham Police Department.

Kent (second to the left) with his wife and three children celebrating his 70th birthday.
Kent (second to the left) with his wife and three children celebrating his 70th birthday.

WHO WAS KENT HINKSON?
Kent was a loving husband to one wife for 48 years. He was the father to 3 children and a grandfather to 8. He died at the age of 71. He pastored Presbyterian churches in Texas, California and Florida. When he moved to Durham six years ago, he was a volunteer priest at the All Saints Church in Durham. He was also a volunteer at the Bennett Place Civil War site. A visit to Kent Hinkson’s Facebook page will reveal his interests: God, family, history, philosophy, travel and global affairs, among other things. A great conversationalist, Kent could light up a room with his humor and intellect.

MESSAGE FROM THE FAMILY
“I was so fortunate to be married to the most wonderful man for 48 years – Kent Hinkson. He was an amazing spouse, father and grandfather to our family and a trusted mentor and friend to so many others. We are devastated by the loss and the nature of this heinous act. We are hurting immensely. At the same time, we know God has a perfect plan. We know Kent is in a much better place. We thank God for how he has been with us in the midst of this devastating tragedy. We would never be able to get through without being reassured of His promises, grace and mercy. We want to thank the Durham Police and the detective units for their professionalism and hard work. We want to also thank the community for rallying around us and drawing visibility to the disappearance of Kent. We want to thank the Body of Christ – thank you so much for your prayers and support from around the world. We ask that you remember us in your prayers in these difficult upcoming weeks and months ahead.” – Jeline Hinkson, wife of Kent

FUNERAL AND OTHER ARRANGEMENTS
Please revert back to this page for information. We will post as we learn more.

HOW YOU CAN HELP
Please pray for us. Pray that God will sustain us in our immense loss. Thank God for Kent’s life and his lasting legacy and that he is now in a much better place.

MEDIA
We have been grateful for the press coverage and the awareness it raised that helped answer some difficult questions pertaining to this situation and Kent’s disappearance. At this time, we do not have anything further to say and request privacy and respect for our family at this difficult time. Please contact kevin.anselmo (at) gmail.com for any questions or concerns.

Kent and his wife Jeline with Nathan Gasatura, a Rwandan bishop
Kent and his wife Jeline with Nathan Gasatura, a Rwandan bishop
122 thoughts on “UPDATE REGARDING KENT HINKSON – SUNDAY, AUGUST 10, 2014

  1. Dear Hinkson family: I never met Kent, but have walked by his picture (since he was the founder of the church) in the offices of Spring Cypress Presbyterian Church in Spring many, many times in my 13 years of employment there. It saddens my heart to even try to imagine your loss. My prayers will be with you all for many days to come. Marsha McComb

    Like

  2. God Bless Kent and Jeline and all the family and friends who knew this special man. The world is worse for his leaving, but better for him having been here. Thoughts and Prayers of Love and Peace to you and your family and friends, Jeline.

    Like

  3. Kent imitated Christ in every imaginable way and encouraged his many friends to do likewise. As a Bible teacher, he made Scripture come alive, but loving and caring for others were his highest priorities. These are his family’s legacy.

    Like

  4. Jeline we know each other through Jafra and Bonnie Smith. She shared your tragedy with me just now. I am profoundly sorry! Please know that we will be praying for all of you!!! Blessings of PEACE… Susan (Williams) Anderson

    Like

  5. Dear Jeline,

    We are so saddened to hear this news. I met you and Kent in 2010 as your Realtor in Durham.
    We know Kent touched so many people’s lives. He was such a gentleman and insisted that me and the wife have dinner at your home to celebrate your closing he was so excited to be near his grandchildren. May God envelop you in the peace that passes understanding. You are in our thoughts and prayers.

    Julian and Sonia Jahoo

    Like

  6. Though I did not know your whole family, I did know Beth through Covenant College. My heart is absolutely breaking for all of you. Praying for the peace that passes all understanding during this difficult time. Sherry Dixon

    Like

  7. I have always remembered Dr. Hinkson whenever I see a Nativity display. I remember how he used to say that he despised how Christ was depicted as blonde hair, blue eyed baby and Mary was kneeling in prayer right after giving birth in a barn. “Give me a break.”he would say. I remember how many times he made me think of Jesus and the Bible in ways that I hadn’t before. I learned a lot from him and will miss him even more now. Still remember how he worked The Princess Bride into a sermon.

    I truly wish that there was something that I could do. I regret that I can’t make the services, but please know that I will be there in spirit. Love you guys and will be praying for you.

    Like

  8. Jeline. I am so sorry for the loss to your family. You all are the reason I became a member at spring cypress presbyterian. Even when in 2008 at mission conf here at the church u knew I was going through cancer treatments and you and Kent called me. Your family are in my thoughts and prayers. He is a wonderful man.

    Like

  9. Mandana and I were sadden by the news of your families loss. We will continue to pray for peace in this difficult time. As you continue your closewalk with God may this bear witness to others. Continue to trust Gods word and he will give you rest for his promises are true today ,tomorrow and forever.

    Like

  10. Jeline, Beth, Maurice and the rest of the family:

    I am shocked and saddened! I rarely watch or read local news and do not even know Kent was missing until a friend of mine called me this afternoon and let me know what happened.

    There couldn’t be a nicer person. Kent always had a pleasant smile on his face and would share that smile with a wave every time I walked the dogs and passed him or even when he saw me from afar working in the yard.

    Please accept our condolences and prayers for Kent and your family.

    -Mark and Kristin Avitabile-

    Like

  11. Dear Hinkson Family- my heart is saddened at this news. I was blessed to know Pastor Hinkson and his family as a youth from his service at Calvery Presbyterian in LaMirada, Ca. His love for our Lord was obvious then and I am sure it has increased with the years. Thank you for nurturing seeds of faith in my life. May our Lord wrap His love around your family during this difficult time. I pray you find comfort in the knowledge that Kent’s light for Christ continues to shine in the lives of those who knew him and the countless other lives that we continue to touch by sharing the Good News of our Lord with. Keeping you all in prayer.

    Like

  12. Thankful for Kent’s loving ministry at Immanuel Presbyterian in Miami. A blessing for us. Hugs to Jeline and Beth. Xo

    Like

  13. Dear family and support of my son Brandon Walsh I am so saddened by the inexplicable suffering you must be feeling. Know that I will be praying for you all.
    Thank you for being there for my son.
    Linda Walsh

    Like

  14. Members of Kendall Presbyterian Church are praying for you and your family. May God give you comfort and peace beyond our understanding during these difficult times.
    With Sympathy,
    Betty Stainton

    Like

  15. Jeline and family, I heard today of Pastor Kent’s death and I’m quite saddened for your loss. He was very kind and patient towards my family and me, in Texas, at Spring Cypress. God Bless you.

    Like

  16. Dear Jeline and family, I have faithful memories of Pastor Kent from Lakeview Presbyterian Church in Illinois. He was truly an inspiration and support to me when I was going through a trying time in my life. I was so proud to be on the worship team there. I am so sorry for your loss. He was kind and faithful who truly loved the Lord. I just found out about his passing. May God bless and comfort you during this great loss.

    Like

  17. I knew Kent. We volunteered together at Bennett Place, and I just found out about what happened yesterday. Shocking, to say the very least. He was the best of men, and he certainly knew his Civil War history. I will miss him terribly, and I hardly knew him. I gave him a fig tree, about a year ago.

    Like

Leave a Reply

